2020 Year in Review

Can you name these people, places, and things that made news in the year 2020?
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
Last updated: December 26, 2020
First submittedDecember 26, 2020
Times taken17,890
Average score66.7%
Rating4.49
4:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 18 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Hint
Answer
First city to have a major coronavirus outbreak
Wuhan
Cruise ship that was the site of an early coronavirus outbreak
Diamond Princess
President of Brazil who got coronavirus
Jair Bolsonaro
Prime Minister of the U.K. who got coronavirus
Boris Johnson
Commodity which traded at a negative price for the first time in history
Crude oil
Istanbul museum, formerly a church, which was turned into a mosque
Hagia Sophia
Place in the United States which recorded the highest temperature ever reliably
recorded on Earth, 130 °F (54.4 °C)
Death Valley
Chinese river basin which experienced major flooding
Yangtze
Mysterious dictator who disappeared for three weeks, leading to rumors of his demise
Kim Jong-un
Middle East city in which a storehouse of ammonium nitrate exploded with a force
of about 1/10th of the Hiroshima bombing
Beirut
City whose "one country, two systems" rights were once again eroded by the
passage of a new security law
Hong Kong
Spaniard who won his 20th tennis Grand Slam title
Rafael Nadal
Bond actor who died at the age of 90
Sean Connery
Disease declared eradicated in Nigeria, meaning it can now only
be found in Afghanistan and Pakistan
Polio
Video conferencing company which reached a market cap of over $100 billion
Zoom
Couple who dropped their Royal Highness titles and moved to California,
in an event dubbed "Megxit"
Prince Harry and
Meghan Markle
China and Nepal agree that this is exactly 8,848.86m in elevation
Mount Everest
Island chain in the Pacific which voted NOT to become independent from France
New Caledonia
+18
Level 26
Dec 27, 2020
Good god, looking at this quiz makes me want to get to 2021 even more. Hoping for a much better year in 2021. It is essentially 2020 2.0 because everything that postponed this year is happening in 2021 (Olympics, Euro 2020 etc.). Anyways, hope everyone has a happy and healthy 2021!
+4
Level 76
Dec 27, 2020
Or it will be 2020 2.0 because those events will be postponed again.
+1
Level 50
Jan 14, 2021
2021's pretty bad so far, at least for the U.S....
+1
Level 78
Mar 14, 2022
This comment did not age well.
+6
Level 57
Dec 27, 2020
Wooh, finally this year is going to end. This year was such a roller coaster ride. Was expecting a question related to US killing Soleimani, the Iranian leader, as it was the first pretty big news of the year, and remained in media for quite a while.

Anyways, Happy Holidays and New Year to everyone! May 2021 be better than 2020 for you!

+1
Level 70
Dec 30, 2020
See December 29th quizzes
+23
Level 71
Dec 27, 2020
Is there a conspiracy theory that coronavirus was started by Zoom? There definitely should be..
+2
Level 54
Dec 30, 2020
Or maybe a hand-sanitizer company.
+3
Level 80
Dec 28, 2020
Accept (duke of) Sussex?
+1
Level 77
Dec 28, 2020
Yes, I tried Sussexes.
+1
Level 90
Dec 28, 2020
I tried both “henry” and “duke of sussex”, and it wouldn't take it either.
+5
Level 47
Dec 30, 2020
For "henry" I think it's because his name is actually Harry.
+1
Level 69
Jan 1, 2021
No, his name is Henry.
+2
Level ∞
Dec 28, 2020
Sussex will work now.
+3
Level 69
Dec 28, 2020
What happened to Skype?
+1
Level 20
Apr 8, 2021
I honestly don’t know
+1
Level 31
Dec 28, 2020
You literally copied my quiz idea lol check my page
+29
Level ∞
Dec 28, 2020
What an original idea.
+1
Level 31
Dec 30, 2020
I still had the quiz first so yeah even if it’s not an original idea give me some credit 💰
+8
Level 26
Dec 30, 2020
this is such a ubiquitous and obvious idea for a quiz, it hardly bears crediting you for getting an unfinished version published first.
+1
Level 31
Dec 30, 2020
Lmao well I still publicised it first 😂
+7
Level 87
Dec 30, 2020
Perhaps you should read this.
+2
Level 87
Jan 8, 2021
I've never heard of a year end retrospective. Seems like you have merit.
+1
Level 70
Dec 28, 2020
I've made my own special quiz on the COVID pandemic. If you want to try, please click here!
+4
Level 57
Dec 30, 2020
The Nigeria prompt should read "... meaning it can now...."
+1
Level ∞
Dec 30, 2020
Fixed
+7
Level 55
Dec 30, 2020
I was there when the ammonium nitrate exploded in the port.

Several friends were hospitalized and I lost a dear friend Ayman Nour El Din who worked as an army officer in the port.

We'll never forget August the 4th 2020.

+5
Level 62
Dec 30, 2020
What about protests against Lukashenko in Belarus, war in Nagorno-Karabakh and poisoning of Alexei Navalny?
+8
Level 67
Dec 30, 2020
If those things actually happened, they'd be included in this quiz which is obviously a completely thorough breakdown of the previous year's news. Precisely 18 things happened. That's it.
+2
Level 66
Dec 31, 2020
Wow, you must be the fun guy at parties...
+1
Level 55
Dec 31, 2020
While I agree obviously not everything that happened will be on here, those were some really big stories. Like the Lukashenko protests and everything with Navalny were covered over a span of multiple days. I haven't even heard about the Nagorno-Karabakh war though.
+1
Level 58
Jun 16, 2021
Or Australia's fires
+1
Level 41
Dec 30, 2020
Maybe accept "Jong-Un"?
+1
Level 69
Feb 15, 2022
in korea the family name comes first, meaning jong-un is his given name and the equivalent of asking if 'barack' can be accepted for obama
+6
Level 45
Dec 30, 2020
You guys remember when Mayans predicted that the world is going to end in 2012? They were probably dyslexic and meant 2021.
+1
Level 52
Dec 30, 2020
I wanna make a statement about them being a horrible source, but I don’t wanna be called out for not getting a joke.
+1
Level 76
Jan 1, 2021
Misinterpretation of the Mesoamerican Long Count calendar was the basis for a popular belief that a cataclysm would take place on December 21, 2012. December 21, 2012 was simply the day that the calendar went to the next bʼakʼtun, at Long Count 13.0.0.0.0.
+1
Level 58
Dec 30, 2020
Could you please amend the Hagia Sophia answer to accept the following: Ayasofya, Sancta Sophia, Saint/St Sophia or Sofia?

To check - https://www.britannica.com/topic/Hagia-Sophia

Thanks!

+1
Level 39
Dec 30, 2020
Darn polio, stopping me from getting full marks!
+2
Level 49
Dec 31, 2020
I find it so difficult to understand why anyone would think 2021 and beyond will be better. If anything the years ahead will be worse. COVID-19 continues to mutate and even if it didn't, vaccinating 7.8 Billion people takes more than a year. Natural disasters and extreme weather events are going to become more frequent and more catastrophic on top of a rise in global and seasonal temperatures across the world. Not to mention the mass extinction crisis that is definitely going to have significant impacts on the existence of humanity. Celebrate that we are still in 2020, soon you will wish it was 2020 again.
+1
Level 76
Jan 1, 2021
Let's hope the coronavirus pandemic ends this year, or at least becomes much less widespread!
+1
Level 67
Jan 1, 2021
Well, for one thing, the vaccine is here. Yes, there will be mutations, but as more people get vaccinated, we'll at least get closer to normal life. On top of that, many people believe the change in the White House will help return order to American society. You are right about the natural disasters. Nothing can stop that now. But I think that we'll at least be allowed to do fun things by summer, even if we can't pack in to bars and concerts like we used to.
+1
Level 76
Jan 4, 2021
But we can at least mitigate the consequences and effects of climate change.
+1
Level 51
May 5, 2021
80% fully vaccinated for herd immunity. Not even close.
+1
Level 76
Jan 1, 2021
HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY! 🎉🎊🥳 (I'm in China)
+1
Level 54
Mar 18, 2021
you too
+1
Level 54
Jan 1, 2021
I'm surprised it didn't mention Ruth Bader Ginsburg.
+1
Level 76
Jan 4, 2021
Then you should be more surprised that the winner of the US presidential election isn't mentioned either. Both of these are mentioned 2020 Year in Review - The United States.