NHL First Overall Picks Since 1963

Try to Guess all of the first overall picks since 1963. (Yellow Box is disabled, so years shouldn't matter)
NHL.com for sources
Quiz by GraysonB
Last updated: February 3, 2020
You have not attempted this quiz yet.
First submittedFebruary 3, 2020
Times taken16
Average score47.4%
Report this quizReport
Enter answer here
 / 57 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Draft Year
2019 New Jersey Devils
Jack Hughes
2018 Buffalo Sabres
Rasmus Dahlin
2017 New Jersey Devils
Nico Hischeir
2016 Toronto Maple Leafs
Auston Matthews
2015 Edmonton Oilers
Connor McDavid
2014 Florida Panthers
Aaron Ekblad
2013 Colorado Avalanche
Nathan MacKinnon
2012 Edmonton Oilers
Nail Yakupov
2011 Edmonton Oilers
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
2010 Edmonton Oilers
Taylor Hall
2009 New York Islanders
John Tavares
2008 Tampa Bay Lightning
Steven Stamkos
2007 Chicago Blackhawks
Patrick Kane
2006 St. Louis Blues
Erik Johnson
2005 Pittsburgh Penguins
Sidney Crosby
2004 Washington Capitals
Alexander Ovechkin
2003 Pittsburgh Penguins
Marc-Andre Fleury
2002 Columbus Blue Jackets
Rick Nash
2001 Atlanta Thrashers
Ilya Kovalchuk
2000New York Islanders
Rick DiPietro
1999 Atlanta Thrashers
Patric Stefan
1998 Tampa Bay Lightning
Vinent Lecavalier
1997 Boston Bruins
Joe Thornton
1996 Ottawa Senators
Chris Phillips
1995 Ottawa senators
Bryan Berard
1994 Florida Panthers
Ed Jovanovski
1993 Ottawa Senators
Alexandre Daigle
1992 Tampa Bay Lightning
Roman Hamrlik
1991 Quebec Nordiques
Eric Lindros
Draft Year
1990 Quebec Nordiques
Owen Nolan
1989 Quebec Nordiques
Mats Sundin
1988 Minnisota North Stars
Mike Modano
1987 Buffalo Sabres
Pierre Turgeon
1986 Detroit Red Wings
Joe Murphy
1985 Toronto Maple Leafs
Wendel Clark
1984 Pittsburgh Penguins
Mario Lemieux
1983 Minnesota North Stars
Brian Lawton
1982 Boston Bruins
Gord Kluzak
1981 Winnipeg Jets
Dale Hawerchuk
1980 Montreal Canadians
Doug Wickenheiser
1979 Colorado Rockies
Rob Rampage
1978 Minnisota North Stars
Bobby Smith
1977 Detroit Red Wings
Dale McCourt
1976 Washington Capitals
Rick Green
1975 Philadelphia Flyers
Mel Bridgman
1974 Washington Capitals
Greg Joly
1973 New York Islanders
Denis Portvin
1972 New York Islanders
Billy Harris
1971 Montreal Canadians
Guy Lafleur
1970 Buffalo Sabres
Gilbert Perreault
1969 Montreal Canadians
Rejean Hould
1968 Montreal Canadians
Michel Plasse
1967 Los Angeles Kings
Rick Pegnutti
1966 Boston Bruins
Barry Gibbs
1965 New York Rangers
Andre Veilleux
1964 Detroit Red Wings
Glaude Gauthier
1963 Montreal Canadians
Garry Monahan
Level 65
Feb 3, 2020
Several spelling mistakes
Level 42
Feb 3, 2020
Level 50
Nov 13, 2022
It should be Denis "Potvin", not Portvin; It should be Rejean "Houle", not Hould; It should be Rob "Ramage", not Rampage