Sports Stars Turned Politicians

Try to name these sports stars who later took up a career in politics.
Quiz by stubart409
Last updated: April 20, 2023
You have not attempted this quiz yet.
First submittedJuly 8, 2020
Times taken317
Average score25.9%
Report this quizReport
Enter answer here
 / 27 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Played 88 cricket tests for Pakistan and was Captain as they won the World Cup in 1992. Is elected to Pakistan's national Assembly in 2013, and serves as Prime Minister of Pakistan from 2018 to 2022. In November 2022, he survives an assassination attempt on his life.
Imran Khan
Won the Ballon d'Or and FIFA World Player of the Year in 1995. Plays 114 times for AC Milan from 1995 to 2000, and 75 times for Liberia. Is elected to the Liberian Senate in 2014; in 2018 he is elected President of Liberia
George Weah
Was a professional wrestler from 1974-1994. Was elected the 38th Governor of Minnesota from 1999-2003 as a member of the Reform Party. Is currently a member of The Green Party of Minnesota.
Jesse Ventura
Won Mr Universe 4 times from 1967-1970, 7 Mr Olimpia titles between 1970 and 1980, and an International powerlifting Championship in 1966. He serves as Governor of California from 2003-2011.
Arnold Schwarzenegger
Plays 99 cricket tests for India from 1984-2000, scoring over 6000 runs. His career ends when he is involved in a match fixing scandal. In 2009 he is elected to the Indian National Parliament and serves until 2014.
Mohammad Azharuddin
Ugandan light heavyweight boxing champion from 1951 to 1960. President of Uganda from 1971 to 1979.
Idi Amin
Won the LA marathon in 2009 and 2010. In 2012 he wins the Chicago Marathon. In 2013 he is elected to the Kenyan National Assembly and serves until 2017.
Wesley Korir
Won the Berlin marathon in 1997 and the Chicago marathon in 2000. Is elected to the Kenyan national Assembly in 2007.
Elijah Lagat
With a career record of 62 wins and 7 losses, this boxer won twelve major world titles, and is the only eight-division World Champion in the history of boxing. In 2016 he was elected as a Senator of the Philippines and serves until 2022.
Manny Pacquiao
Wins the gold medal in the Decathlon at the Sydney Olympics of 2000, and was European Champion in the same event in 1998. In 2007 he is elected to the Estonian National Parliament.
Erik Nool
Won gold in the 5000m and the 10000m in two successive Olympics, in 1972 and 1976. Has been elected to the Finnish Parliament, serving from 1999-2007 and again from 2010-2011.
Lasse Viren
He won the 200m at the 1980 Moscow Olympics, an event for which he held the World Record for 17 years. He served as a member of the European Parliament from 1999-2004.
Pietro Mennea
Played 100 times for the Polish national team and was leading scorer in the 1974 FIFA Football World Cup. Was a Polish Senator from 2001 to 2005.
Grzegorz Lato
Former World Number 1 in tennis, winner of 3 Grand Slam singles titles and 45 career titles in the 1970s. He is elected to the Romanian Senate in 2012.
Ilie Nastase
World Chess Champion from 1985-2000. Holds the World Record for consecutive tournament victories: 15. He helps create two separate Russian political parties: In 1990, the Democratic Party of Russia; in 2005, the United Civil Front. In 2013 he is driven into exile from Russia to Croatia because of his strong anti-Putin views.
Gary Kasparov
World Chess Champion from 1975-1985. Has been a member of the Civic Chamber of the Russian Federation since 2005, and has served in the Russian Duma since 2011.
Anatoly Karpov
Former World Number 1 in tennis and winner of 2 Grand Slams in 2000 and 2005, and 15 career titles. In 2011, he is elected to the Russian State Duma as the member representing Nizhny Novgorod. He resigns in 2017.
Marat Safin
Played in the USSR basketball team which won the 1988 Olympics gold medal. Was picked in the NBA draft and played for the Atlanta Hawks from 1989-1992. Was a member of the Ukranian Parliament from 2006-2014.
Alexander Volkov
Set 9 outdoor and 3 indoor world records in Athletics. Won the gold medal in the 1500m at the 1980 and 1984 Olympics. He is elected to the UK parliament as a member of the Conservative Party in 1992, and serves until 1997. He is appointed a Life Peer of the House of Lords in 2000.
Sebastian Coe
Footballer who plays 194 times for AC Milan from 2001 to 2010, winning the UEFA Champions League twice. Plays 83 times for the Georgian National team. Is elected to the Georgian Parliament in 2012 and serves as Energy Minister until 2017. Runs for, and is elected as Mayor of Tbilisi in 2017, where he is still the incumbent.
Kakha Kaladze
Played in the NHL for Montreal Canadiens from 1970-1979. Was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1983. He serves in the Canadian Parliament as a member of the Liberal Party of Canada from 2004-2011.
Ken Dryden
Won 7 ATP career singles titles, 27 career doubles titles and reaches a career high of 8 in 1975 in the world tennis rankings. Serves in the Australian Parliament as a member of the Liberal Party from 2010 to 2017.
John Alexander
Represented Australia 227 times in Field Hockey, winning the World Cup in 1986. Also represented Western Australia in Cricket. Serves in the Australian Parliament as the Labor member for Perth from 1983 to 1993.
Ric Charlesworth
Australian long distance runner who sets 17 world records over 5000m and 10000m from 1963 to 1968. Serves as mayor of the Gold Coast from 2004-2012.
Ron Clarke
Represents Fiji in the Discus, Hammer Throw, Shot Put and Decathlon at the 1974 Commonwealth Games in Christchurch. Instigated two military coups that shook Fiji in 1987. He was later democratically elected as Prime Minister of Fiji, serving from 1992-1999. Currently leader of the The Social Democratic Liberal Party.
Sitiveni Rabuka
Played 70 times for Brazil's Football team scoring 55 goals. One of the highest goalscorers of all time with 680 career goals. Played for Barcelona from 1993-1995. He serves in the Brazilian Chamber of Deputies from 2010 to 2014, and in the Brazilian Senate from 2014-2018.
Highest ever goalscorer for Galatasaray and Turkey in football. Plays 112 times for Turkey from 1992-2007. In 2011 he is elected as a Member of Parliament to the Grand National Assembly of Turkey. In 2016 he is charged with insulting president Erdoğan on Twitter. In 2017 he is driven into exile from Turkey to the United States.
Hakan Şükür
Level 85
Jul 8, 2020
Hard test. Well done. You could add Steve Largent, Jack Kemp, and Kevin Johnson if you wanted more Americans (and really, who doesn't these days?). If you stretch the definition of "star" a good bit, Fidel Castro and Gerald Ford might qualify.
Level 80
Apr 20, 2023
Vitali Klitschko was the first name that came to my mind when I saw the title but surprisingly he isn't even on the quiz
Level 72
Apr 20, 2023
Idi Amin getting punched in the head for 9 years makes a lot of sense now