Countries that hunt whales

The International Whaling Commission (IWC) introduced a commercial whaling moratorium in 1982. While most countries observe it, some do not, or have certain special dispensations. How many do you know?
Quiz by HelveticaBold
Last updated: May 11, 2016
You have not attempted this quiz yet.
First submittedMay 11, 2016
Times taken199
Average score72.7%
Report this quizReport
Enter answer here
 / 11 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
This country continues to hunt whales under the premise of 'scientific research'
This country has sporadically hunted under the same premise, before resuming commercial whaling in 2006
This country largely ignores the ban and continues to hunt Minke whales
Indigenous groups of these countries are permitted to whale in small numbers
United States
Hunters on the islands Lembata & Solor are the two remaining whaling communities in this country
Natives of the island of Bequia in this country are allowed to hunt 4 humpback whales a year
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Inuit hunters in this country of Denmark hunt around 175 whales a year
The annual hunting of pilot whales in this country of Denmark is called 'Grindadráp'
Faroe Islands
In 2012 this country declared it would begin a scientific whaling programme
South Korea
Level 70
May 11, 2016
Really educational! Well done!
Level 71
May 11, 2016
Thank you ever so much!
Level 55
Nov 19, 2017
Level 51
Sep 2, 2019
can you accept denmark for the faroe islands and greenland
Level 71
Sep 3, 2019
Hmm, I get your point, but it's only those specific parts of Denmark that hunt whales. This quiz needs updating anyway.