One Term U.S. Presidents

Name the the U.S. Presidents who served one term or a portion of one term, ran for re-election, and lost their bid to secure a second consecutive term.
Read the instructions carefully.
Quiz by Walacama
Last updated: July 27, 2021
First submittedFebruary 1, 2016
Times taken931
Average score81.8%
Report this quizReport
Enter answer here
 / 11 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
John Adams
John Quincy Adams
Martin Van Buren
Grover Cleveland
Benjamin Harrison
William Taft
Herbert Hoover
Gerald Ford
Jimmy Carter
George H. W. Bush
Donald Trump
Level 52
Oct 11, 2016
Cleveland served two terms. They were non-consecutive but still were two.
Level 78
Oct 11, 2016
Agreed, but see the quiz description.
Level 30
Mar 29, 2017
But he did lose reelection
Level 25
May 4, 2018
Ford didn't serve a term. He served less than a term.
Level 78
May 7, 2018
True. I should tweak the description.
Level 59
Nov 25, 2020
The tangerine-color tantrum thrower is missing. This quiz needs to be updated
Level 66
Aug 2, 2021
William Henry Harrison served only one month but is not included
Level 67
Aug 2, 2021
#failing marest is spreading more liberal #fakenews about stolen election! Very unfair!
Level 67
Aug 2, 2021
Wouldn't it be more accurate to call this quiz "presidents who lost re-election"? It would be the exact same list, and you wouldn't arbitrarily be excluding Polk, Buchanan, and Hayes, who were also one-term presidents. Either way, Pierce should be on this list. He ran for re-election but was defeated in the primary.
Level 78
Aug 2, 2021
I think Pierce technically withdrew his name from the ballot at the convention. I could probably change the title to "presidents that lost re-election", but I think of it as presidents that were one-termers not by choice, plus it doesn't have the same ring to it. I also was thinking about presidents that lost the general election.