Manchester United Iconic Shirt Numbers #2

In 1993, The FA switched to persistent squad numbers, abandoning the mandatory use of 1-11 for the starting line-up. Name the players assigned squad number 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 for Manchester United from the 1993/94 Premier League season onwards. See Manchester United Iconic Shirt Numbers #1 for squad numbers 1, 7, 9, 10 & 11.
Quiz by momemamo
Last updated: October 2, 2023
You have not attempted this quiz yet.
First submittedJanuary 20, 2019
Times taken1,007
Average score55.6%
Report this quizReport
Enter answer here
 / 36 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Number 2
Paul Parker
Gary Neville
Victor Lindelof
Number 3
Denis Irwin
Phil Neville
Patrice Evra
Luke Shaw
Eric Bailly
Number 4
Steve Bruce
David May
Juan Sebastian Veron
Gabriel Heinze
Owen Hargreaves
Phil Jones
Sofyan Amrabat
Number 5
Lee Sharpe
Ronny Johnsen
Laurent Blanc
Rio Ferdinand
Marcos Rojo
Harry Maguire
Number 6
Gary Pallister
Jaap Stam
Laurent Blanc
Rio Ferdinand
Wes Brown
Jonny Evans
Paul Pogba
Lisandro Martinez
Number 8
Paul Ince
Nicky Butt
Wayne Rooney
Juan Mata
Bruno Fernandes
Level 65
Sep 20, 2023
Great quiz! I'd just add that Blanc wore #5 in his second (and final) season at United. It was a funny shirt number merry-go-round:

2001-02 - Johnsen wore #5. Stam was #6 but was sold and replaced by Blanc who took on the number.

2002-03 - Johnsen left and Blanc took on #5, whilst new signing Ferdinand was given #6.

2003-04 - Blanc retired and Ferdinand became #5 - although it didn't prove particularly lucky for him to begin with, seeing as he ended up with an eight-month ban for missing a drugs test 😂

Level 79
Oct 2, 2023
Thanks! I've updated it just now :)